Post Qualifying Notes: Talladega

This weekend’s event schedule included two practice sessions on Friday before qualifying on Saturday afternoon.  I made one modification to my Yahoo! Fantasy Auto Racing team before the roster deadline.  I liked what I saw out of Aric Almirola in both practice sessions so I dropped Dave Blaney.  The change netted me bonus points for the 43’s fourth place qualifying effort and gives the perfect excuse not to use Michael Waltrip.  I don’t see the #55 Aaron’s Dream Machine coming home in one piece.

This week I am rolling with the 29, 88, 27, and the 43.

I currently have 2,317 points and rank in the 63rd percentile.

My ESPN Stock Car Challenge roster for Talladega is:

#16 Greg Biffle ($22.7) – I dropped Denny Hamlin who was locked in at $22.9.  Hamlin practiced well and qualified decently.  He traditionally performs well at Darlington, but so does Biffle.

#88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. ($22.0) – I picked Junior up last week and it paid off.  He is my work horse this week and his price range gives me options for next week (Ryan Newan, Kasey Kahne, Brad Keselowski).

#24 Jeff Gordon ($21.5) – I wish I didn’t have to drop him after next week.  He is starting on the Pole and has 7 Top 5 finishes in his last 11 races at Darlington.  If the 24 is ever going to heat up again the time is now.

#78 Regan Smith ($16.4) – He fills my Mark Martin void.  I hope he brings home a Top 15 finish and repeats with another strong run at Darlington.

#9 Marcos Ambrose ($16.9) – I have had the Ambrose since the season started.  He starts today’s race in 3rd!

Total cost of Ownership $95.5

I currently have 1,379 points and sit in the 89.5 percentile.

Note: A Chevy has taken the checkered flag at the last five Talladega races.  Look for one of the RCR or HMS cars to give them a 6th.

GoProFantasySports on Google+

