Salary Cap Baseball – Week 5

Like most Evan Longoria owners, my ESPN Baseball Challenge team took a nock this week. Longoria is going to be out 6-8 weeks, forcing his fantasy owners in salary cap formats to act quickly.

I play in the format with weekly roster adjustments so the lack of production at the hot corner really hurt this week. I dropped down to the 85th percentile. I am picking up Chase Headley – SD for the same price that I purchased Longoria ($5.0). Only David Wright and Miguel Cabrera have been more productive at 3B in 2012.

I definitely use a ‘In it for the Long Haul’ approach to the game. If possible I’d like to keep the same players for each half of the season. With this in mind I made a few adjustments after Week 1 (4/4 – 4/15). The extended first week of the game is forgiving. You are afforded the opportunity to pick up players for Week 2 at their opening day cost. So even though Matt Kemp performed well the first week, his value stayed the same for all the non-believing cheapskates like myself.

I scored big by grabbing Zack Cozart – CIN for $3.5. Cozart has cooled off a little since Opening Week, but overall he is only 13 points behind Troy Tulowitzki! He is clearly worth starting for the entire first half. If you missed out on the Zack Attack grab Jed Lowrie – HOU for $3.8.

I am keeping my roster the same Week 5 including the LA Dodgers pitching staff.

C: Mike Napoli – TEX $4.6 (MKT $4.9) – The battle for top Catcher is tight. I believe Napoli will win the first half show down. Carlos Ruiz – PHI ($4.2) is a solid short term option.

1B: Adrian Gonzalez – BOS $5.2 ($5.4) – The Cubs Brain LaHair ($4.4) has more points. The extra money isn’t worth the upgrade at any other position. Prince Fielder and albert Pujols are struggling too. Adrian!

2B: Ian Kinsler – TEX $5.0 ($5.8) – If you don’t own shares in Kinsler there is still time to buy Omar Infante – MIA at $4.5

3B: Chase Headley – SD $5.0 ($5.0) – See Above. Chris Johnson – BAL is cheap too.

SS: Zack Cozart – CIN $3.5 ($4.1) – See Above

LF: Melky Cabrera – SF $4.6 ($5.2) – I love this guy. Alejandro De Aza – CHW (4.8) offers similar bang for the buck.

CF: Matt Kemp – LAD $5.3 ($6.0) – Most points of any non-PS player. If your stuck at CF, it is time to buy low on B.J. Upton – TB $4.6

RF: Andre Ethier – LAD $4.8 ($5.0) – Top points getter at RF. Grab a Jason if you need some value. Heyward – ATL and Werth – WAS. Both are valued at $4.8

DH: Edwin Encarnacion $4.7 ($5.6) – I am glad Adam Dunn briefly showed signs of 2011. I picked up Edwin in time for his hulk out against Seattle. Luke Scott – TB has good value at $4.4 if you need to make a move.

PS: Los Angeles Dodgers $7.3 ($7.8) – Sticking to my gut that the Dodgers will have the most points by the end of the first half. I have had them since Week 2 when I realized the Phillies offense was going to cost me wins.

Total Cost of Ownership $50.0 – 1223 Total Points

GoProFantasySports on Google+

