Go Pro at Pocono – 8 Drivers for Yahoo! Fantasy Auto Racing

There should be plenty of rubber on the repaved racing surface at Pocono Raceway now that the NASCAR Sprint Cup drivers spent the week testing and practicing for the Pocono 400.  Joey Logano had no trouble finding the grip he needed during Happy Hour this afternoon.  He posted the fastest speed of the day at 179.501 mph! That’s nearly 7 mph faster than the current qualifying record set by Kasey Kahne back in 2004.  Based on the speeds we’ve seen in testing and practice, Kahne’s record of 172.533 mph may not even hold up against the go-or-go-homer’s tomorrow.

Joey Logano wasn’t originally part of my setup; but for the purposes of picking up a few extra qualifying points, I am adding him to my Yahoo! Fantasy Auto Racing team.  However, that’s as far as I’m going with that move.  His average finishing position of 20.8 in 6 career Sprint Cup Starts is too risky for my blood.  Case in point: He started from the pole in last fall at Pocono, but wound up finishing 26th.

Now I’m suggesting you ignore your driver’s starting position entirely, not at Pocono.  In my Pre-Practice Notes I urged Fantasy NASCAR owners to pay close attention to qualifying.  Why?  Because in 68 NASCAR Cup Series races at Pocono, the winner has started inside top ten 47 times.  My lineup is set, but make sure you grab your fare share of Top 10 candidates before the final roster deadline.

If Denny Hamlin starts inside the Top 10, the rest of the field better look out. Credit: Autostock and NASCAR.com

The 8 GoProFantasySports Drivers for the Pocono 400:

A: Denny Hamlin #11– The 4 time Pocono winner has 8 Top 10 finishes in 12 starts.  Hamlin is the GoPro Favorite to win Sunday’s race.

A: Jimmie Johnson #48 – Five time is looking for his 3rd Cup win in the last 4 races.  The two time Pocono winner has 14 Top 10 finishes in 20 career starts.

B: Mark Martin #55 – Martin was the fastest in Friday’s first practice session and was at the top of the charts during testing.  He has never won at Pocono, but future Hall of Famer does have 27 Top 10’s in 50 career starts.

B: Kasey Kahne #5 – Kahne has finished 10th or better in his last 7 Sprint Cup races.  He has 1 win at Pocono in 16 Cup races.

B: Ryan Newman #39 – Newman was 6th fastest in Friday’s first practice session and is always a threat to win the pole.  Rocket Man has 7 Top 5 finishes including 1 win in 20 races at Pocono.

B: Joey Logano #20 – Bowyer is out.  Logano is in.  I’m hoping his Happy Hour speed translates to qualifying points. If so, I’m going to take the money and run.

C: Casey Mears #13 – Mears was the most consistent C-Driver during testing and practice.  He has 3 Top 10 finishes in 18 career starts.

C: Bobby Labonte #47 – The 3 time Pocono winner has 9 Top 10 finishes in 38 starts.  However, I am tempted to fill this spot with David Ruetimann who is filling in for Kurt Busch this week in the #51.

Pocono Raceway Sprint Cup Race Stats

I will finalize my starting lineup after I tomorrow’s qualifying results.  In the meantime if you have any questions about your Yahoo! Fantasy Auto Racing team, please email me at goprofantasysports@gmail.com or find me on Google+ and Twitter @GoProFS24.

Thanks for reading & good luck this week!

