Save This Fantasy Football Article for Next Year!

Procrastination is the art of keeping up with yesterday. 
Don Marquis – Humorist & Author

I’m glad I finally got around to writing this article.  I know it’s Week 15 of the NFL regular season, but there’s too much information packed in this post not to share it with you right now!  I’ll admit that reading it may not win you your league this year, but bookmarking it won’t not win you a fantasy football championship in 2013.

It’s Never Too Early to Devise Your Draft Strategy

Did you know there are actually three situations where the best choice is not always the one that has the probability of turning out right?

Before the season started I found a master’s thesis from the Stockholm School of Economics that I thought applied perfectly to the type of risk-based decisions fantasy football owners have to evaluate during their drafts.

If you’ve ever wanted to know what the true definition of upside profit and downside loss are, then this is the article for you.

I want to thank J.J. Zachariason for writing The Late Round Quarterback and sharing his advice on value based drafting.  His strategies, combined with analysis from Fantasy Douche, Matthew Berry, and the team of writers that participated in the #TwitMock Fantasy Football Mock Draft on DavidGonos.com, helped me write “Downside Risk, Upside Uncertainty and Fantasy Draft Selection”.

I especially want to thank Goose, the creator of FantasyRundown.com, for all of his positive feedback and posting the article on his site.  Thank you for including my work in your compilation of the best fantasy analysis from the best sources on the internet.

If you aren’t familiar with FantasyRundown.com, please do yourself a favor and check it out today – It’s updated daily and it’s free!

Work Smart, Not Hard

Winners concentrate intensely on draft day and then make the right adjustments throughout the season. When it comes to working the waiver wire, the best fantasy football owners adapt to change by processing information quickly and acting decisively – plus it doesn’t hurt having a few tricks up your sleeve.

It’s true that the evaluation of real players is important, but the key to making better fantasy football waiver wire decisions is truly understanding your opponents’ needs and motives.

I learned a valuable lesson in the power of perception earlier this year when I participated in a free class on Model Thinking via Coursera.org

What Can Standing Ovations Teach Us About Fantasy Sports?

What Can Standing Ovations Teach Us About Fantasy Sports?

During the course, University of Michigan Professor – Scott E. Page demonstrated how modeling something as simple as a standing ovation can improve our understanding of peer effects and help us predict the behavior of others.

When applied to fantasy football, the Standing Ovation Model can help players think more logically about each acquisition they make.  Understanding the power of informational influence and peer effects makes waiver wire claims easier to prioritize and helps reduce the risk of free agency gambles.

Click here to See How It Works.

Strength in Numbers

There’s no free lunch in fantasy football.

There are now over 30 million people playing the game who understand this lesson all too well. We’ve all lost money, sacrificed time, and given up other benefits that economists would consider opportunity costs.

Like the principles of economics, fantasy football can be described as “the basic relationship between scarcity and choice.” Whether it’s making better draft selections or optimizing your starting lineup, owners that make better choices win more leagues.

One of the best ways fantasy football owners can improve their decision-making skils is by joining a diverse network where they can build upon existing ideas and solutions.

Thanks to the team at PigskinBoss.com I learned that gaining new perspectives on old problems means you’re more likely to make more informed choices.

Because no one knows exactly how well a player will perform on a given week; it’s impossible to arrive at the best solution 100% of the time.  Rather than relying on a single source for information, the site provides fantasy football owners with a wide variety of perspectives for each “Who Do I Start? ” question in the Polls section.

I want to thank @pigskinboss for allowing me to connect with an amazing network of writers and fantasy football players.

The Art of Negotiation

In 7 Reasons Why I Still Suck at Fantasy Football, I openly acknowledged that I took too many risks and made too many trades this season.  I now recognize that I react, not to the rational analysis of risk, but to the urge to gamble.7 Reasons Why I Still Suck at Fantasy Football

That’s why, before I make any trades next year, I’ll be asking for objective feedback from the Best Fantasy Football Trade Advisors on Twitter.

It’s true that a good fantasy analyst can give you the advice you need to increase your team’s upside, but you have to be open-minded and disciplined enough to apply it.

You may have to improve your sales skills as well.

Earlier this year I partnered up with Trader X to show fantasy football owners how asking a series of open-ended questions can improve their chances of closing a blockbuster fantasy football trade.

I really want to thank Trader X, @WHUDEY, and the entire crew from FantasyTrade411.com for their support.  I look forward to working with you guys during the 2013 fantasy baseball season.

Why Should You Care?

Let’s face it – if you’ve read this far, you’re a fantasy football addict!

I bet you’ve already written down who your Top 10 Running Backs are going to be for 2013.  If you’re anything like me, you probably need to let go of your ego and develop a detached, unemotional approach to the game.

Reading C.D. Carter’s essay “When Fantasy Football Becomes an Addiction” in the New York Times helped me realize that everything in fantasy football is suffering (or pain), and that I needed to find a balance between two of the game’s most powerful emotional forces – desire and hatred.

Fantasy Football Zen: Non-attachment

“The mental factor of desire accompanies the perception of an attractive object.”

In fantasy football suffering causes us to express our disappointment through self-pity, and our enjoyment through our opponent’s demise; but with the exception of caring enough to focus and play well our emotions have no place in the actual playing of the game itself.

I want to thank C.D. Carter for his Defense / Special Teams Streaming advice and for giving me the inspiration I needed to finish “Fantasy Football Zen: Non-attachment”.

My goal for the article was to show fantasy owners how adopting the Buddhist concept of non-attachment can eliminate unnecessary unhappiness (and other destructive emotions) from fantasy football so that they can focus on making more logical decisions.

Thinking more logically about the mental aspects of fantasy sports is what GoProFantasySports is all about.  I really appreciate everyone who took the time to visit the site, especially those of you who provided constructive criticism.  Everyone’s feedback has helped me become a better writer and fantasy football player.

Thank You!

If you enjoyed reading this post or any of the other articles I’ve shared, I’d be very grateful if you bookmarked this article, emailed it to a co-worker, or shared it with your friends on your favorite social media sites.

Of course if none of this applies to you, it’s probably because you’re already doing these 6 Things.

Happy Holidays! 2012If you’re interested in seeing what I like to 1+ & RT, you can find me on Google+ & Twitter.

Thanks for Reading & Happy Holidays!

